The Science of Love

CSC_0579

The Science of Love

I have been drawn into a discussion about the depth of love. I have been guilty of using this word and therefore the term “love” as loosely and as deeply as it is felt along a never- ending continuum. I love coffee and warm showers in the morning. I thank the Colombian farmers that grow the plants which produce the beans, the process in which was developed for a seemingly good cup of joe each and every morning. These things are things that I would have taken for granted in my younger years. I am not of an ‘advanced’ age by far, however I am at the biological mid- point of my existence. Reflecting on the work needed to be done to get hot water through the tap for my shower, makes me stop and actually thank the Egyptians for patenting the idea! What brilliance is that???

Sexual intercourse on the other-hand can be shallow or deep and be an expression of love that is shallow or deep. My mind can attach other things to the act; I love the way I am held, caressed or kissed… or it could be that the pillow- talk afterwards is the crux of love in essence of passion. The rush of physical feelings can be construed as being ‘in love’ ~ with what though? The sensation? The letting go? The climax? Or the closeness? The joining of two to make one body, meshed into another.

What makes some people scared is the word itself. Our society at large has a twisted outlook about LOVE. We see it in TV commercials and soap operas, hear it in music and in poems. For ages people have considered the emotion in all sorts of ways. From the first kiss to the words spoken, the brains ability to shut down and the hearts ability to open and trust.

I believe that it boils down to trust. I open up to you and I trust you will not hurt me. That means, you will not use my love for you in a manner that goes against the person you know I am. I want nothing in return than that promise.

Love ≠ Commitment

Saying I love YOU does not mean I want to stay the night, move in, be seen in public with you, introduce you to my kids… none of that. So take a deep breath, stop over- analyzing every word that is spoken and just enjoy the ride.

That is all I have to say about that.

 You’d be so proud of him. I am. He, uh, wrote a letter, and he says I can’t read it. I’m not supposed to, so I’ll just leave it here for you. Jenny, I don’t know if Momma was right or if, if it’s Lieutenant Dan. I don’t know if we each have a destiny, or if we’re all just floating around accidental-like on a breeze, but I, I think maybe it’s both. Maybe both is happening at the same time. I miss you, Jenny. If there’s anything you need, I won’t be far away.

Leave a Reply

