Rest You Mind Upon the Right Things

 

This week we’re excited to feature Big Ideas by neuropsychologist and author Dr. Rick Hanson, who is hosting The Loving Brain – Tools for Real Issues virtual conference starting July 15! Sign up to check out all the interviews completely FREE!

There’s a traditional saying that the mind takes the shape it rests upon; the modern update that the brain takes the shape the mind rest upon. For instance, you regularly rest your mind upon worries, self-criticism, and anger, then your brain will gradually take the shape–will develop neural structures and dynamics–of anxiety, low sense of worth, and prickly reactivity to others. On the other hand, if you regularly rest your mind upon, for example, noticing you’re all right right now, seeing the good in yourself, and letting go, then your brain will gradually take the shape of calm strength, self-confidence, and inner peace.

I like this concept. It is one I am slowly getting to, the lack of worry about things in general. I still have a certain amount of conflict going on, all mental of course, but on the otherhand the worry is slowly going. I did shed a few tears last night in the arms of my ex- boyfriend over not getting the job I had hoped to last night. And those tears were from worrying too much. Although it was an entry level job it would have doubled my weekly take home pay and I am in desperate need of that financial boost! Still, if I believe that the Universe constantly opens doors to my success, then so it is, no matter what form my reality takes. I am doing my part in keeping my dreams and desires active. Sure I make mistakes, but they aren’t the end all be all of my exsistence. Overall, life is good. Yesterday taught me what is important to me and right now finishing my bachelor’s degree is more important than a full time entry level job position. Maybe in the future I can be of help to this company. It seems like it would be a good one to work for. 

For more about author, speaker Rick Hanson, seek the link below.

http://www.rickhanson.net/

 

Leave a Reply

