Weekly Writing Challenge: Fit to Write

I started Soulfoodwords a year ago to meld my love of writing, cooking and photography together in one creative venue and share it with the whole world. Little did I know at the time my life would turn upside down within a matter of a few weeks after starting this blog. Since then the blog became my sound board, my solace and sometimes just a way to share my grief throughout the changes of leaving a 20 year marriage and becoming an independent adult for the first time in my life.

Well, ironically, I was married for the 2nd time and determined to make this one last. It did last a challenging 2 decades! ย One of the first challenges was learning to cook. My first short lived marriage to a short order cook meant I was rarely in the kitchen and therefore only knew a handful of recipes when I married the second time. My 2nd husband was use to the wife staying at home mimicking Leave it to Beaver’s mom, baking cookies and having the dinner on the table sometime between 5 and 6pm each night. I was pregnant during the first year and it was assumed I would be a stay at home mom just like his mom, only taking odd jobs when he was laid off from work. Oh my gosh, I had to cook and learn about cooking FAST!

There was a lot of trial and error. The first time making homemade spaghetti sauce had us both verbalizing “this is gross!” and had us running to the phone to order takeout. There were recipes that had me in the kitchen for hours that tasted like heaven and other’s that tasted as if I pulled them from a prepackaged container. Still, I found joy in the hunt for new recipes, eager to try out making his childhood favorites, learning how to bake bread from scratch and many other things that would become family favorites over time.ย 

Today , 25 years later I am still finding joy in making out a grocery list for next week’s menu idea’s. My palate has changed along with my weight as I adopt more vegetarian meals than meat and potato ones. Overall, in many ways, I am fit to write. In a year’s time my life on word press has come full circle and I now feel I can get back to posting cherished recipes and dust off the camera. Writing comes naturally when coupled with those two hobbies. Soulfoodwords; a blog about the soul, the joy of creating comfort in food and quirky, yet thought provoking photographs of my world. I am so happy to share all three.ย 

One thought on “Weekly Writing Challenge: Fit to Write

  1. Its amazing how much we grow, change and life changes in one year. I barely recognize “me” a year ago. Definitely puts a wonderful perspective on goals that sometimes feel so far away. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I love cooking and being in the kitchen, I sure have had my share of “trail and error” meals! ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also starting canning a few years ago and was delightfully surprised at how easy it is! (I was always intimidated by it) I look forward to seeing your recipes and photographs and more! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

