Daily Prompt: Tattoo You

Do you have a tattoo? If so, what’s the story behind your ink? If you don’t have a tattoo, what might you consider getting emblazoned on you skin?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us PERMANENT.

I have a tattoo on my upper left arm. I contemplated the design for less than a year before having it done. I don’t have a good picture of it right now, but will try to describe it as best as I can. Then I will show you a picture of tattoo I would love to have but at this point in life, can’t phantom the expense of paying for it. Also, as I am getting older, having this particular tattoo added to my body seems; frivolous. Maybe the $500+ spent  on it would be well spent else where.

My embedded arm tattoo is a combination of three tattoos that I pieced together. I am a Sagittarius. A dreamer for sure. This year I have been called an idealist a few times by my favorite professor. My tattoo is of a fire fairy. Her hair is long and brown, her dress is multiple shades of yellow, red and orange. She stands on a tribal band that is black and wraps 3/4 th the way around the arm. Behind her is the ghost of a phoenix that is red and appears to be in flames.

The reason I got this tattoo is three-fold: I believe as souls living through a human existence, we are constantly in a state of flux, change. The soul craves change, yet the human hates it. I identify with the Phoenix because I believe throughout our individual lifetimes we are re-born. As a believer in reincarnation, we are re-born. I believe we have have had multiple lifetimes prior to this one and that we will have many thousands more. The fact that we are re-born through experience, gives me comfort. It is like we are offered many do- overs in life. I like that I am not tied to the past mistakes I’ve made or was a part of through association with another soul/human. I am not my past, I am today in this point and time. I am a vague reflection of my future, but I am not my future. I take from the past lessons learned but not the grief associated with the mistakes. 

The fairy is me in spiritual/ human form. I am a nomad, I love nature, I love that fairies invoke both associations when gazed upon. Sagittarius is a fire sign. This fire fairy is a representation for my birth time in this life.  

The tribal band finishes off the tattoo and gives the fairy something to stand on. It is a foundation. I didn’t think much of it until just recently. It isn’t an enclosed swirl design, instead the band has individual pieces that just outward from the ‘band’ like big barbs. It reminds me that life in itself is a challenge. Some roads are dark, scary and down right dangerous to the soul. Yet the foundation is solid and root- like in that it is anchored, not flexible. It reminds me to frequently rely on my roots, my core beliefs, my family and friends. 

This is the tattoo I have wanted to get but can’t seem to justify it’s application on my body;

Image

 

Instead of being on my thigh, I would have it start just under my right arm pit and end just below my upper thigh/ hip area. I like the tribal/ hard look of this design. Simplistic yet powerful. A Phoenix in transition. 

 

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Tattoo You

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Tattoo….You? | timzauto.... in search of the blond haired kid

  2. Pingback: DAILY PROMPT: TATTOO — ME! PHOENIX RISING! | SERENDIPITY

  3. I think it’s beautiful. Get it. You’ll be happy that you did. I like the placement but it would be lovely anywhere. It’s light and while large, it doesn’t take up a lot of space. The money you would spend on something else will be gone and you will probably have little to show for it. But this work of art will be with you forever. I believe in reincarnation as well.

    • I have one tattoo. Two stars, one for my love and one for me. He died almost 3 years ago so it’s a memorial tattoo. The guy who did it (I did no research at all) was not an artist but I love it anyway and I am happy with it. It’s on my left arm just above my wrist, off to the side…it looks like the stars are falling. One star is a bit bigger than the other and I never stopped falling for him so I had them placed in that way. We fell in love at 14 and spent our entire lives together. I miss him every second of every day but my tattoo makes me happy and I had it done where I could see it. I like to see things, not just know that they are there:)

Leave a Reply

