Daily Prompt: Truth or Dare?

Is it possible to be too honest, or is honesty always the best policy?

I believe honesty is always the best policy. Now on to the truth of the matter: WE ALL LIE! 

Image

I show you these stairs, this handrail and the closed door as an example. Throughout my life I was in a “Oh, woe is me” mode. I felt that I couldn’t do this or that, because of that or this, or because this happened and not that. I lied to myself. I am realizing this lesson at the mid point of my life. Pointing fingers and shying away from the mistakes I’ve created as I bungled along, thinking I deserved better, therefore I will hurt others like I have been hurt, was my policy for a long time. At the time, I made those mistakes because it was the only thing I knew to do. I thought it was the right thing at that point in time. Yet, as I mentioned in a previous post, I Am Not My Hair, I declare “I am not your expectations and I am not my mistakes”. I look at this tattered, ill- taken care of landing and closed door as a visual of how I use to view my path in life. Walls are an illusion and so is the closed door.

Telling the truth all the time opens you up to being vulnerable. Owning up to your mistakes though is the best thing you can do; for yourself and others you care about. The truth hurts, but honesty is the best policy. Facing the fears of knowing I have messed up and owning my truth has hurt temporarily, but helped me immeasurably. Getting through each day is hard when you are still dealing with the mistakes of your past. I am slowly seeing that all barriers are illusions and my path is relatively clear. Everyday I strive to do my best. Even when I made mistakes I thought I was doing the right thing. It is easy to lie. It is hard to face the truth, even the ones that lie within. At the end of the day, truth wins out every time.

Leave a comment