Paleo Recipe: Curried Eggs over Collard Greens, Cilantro, and Tomato

                                 

2014-08-11 17.50.20I’m trying to be a little creative with the Paleo Diet and use what I have bought for the week in different ways. Food packaged, even produce, can be a challenge for a single person. This week I bought romaine lettuce and collard greens. Both packages were opened the day I bought them, yet 3-4 meals later I still feel I have a ton of roughage to eat! If anyone has an idea what to do with lettuce than to dress a meat or make a salad, please send me a post.

Curried Eggs over Collard Green, Cilantro, and Tomato (Serves 1)

2 eggs

2 large collard leaves, de-stemmed and sliced in silvers

1/2 bunch of cilantro, chopped (or any fresh herb on hand)

1 garlic clove, minced

1 tomato sliced thin

Curry (or other seasoning), salt and pepper to taste

In a small pan, add oil of choice. I used coconut oil (dabbed a little under the eyes also). After the pan is warm enough on a medium heat, add silvered collards, herb of choice, garlic and tomato. Allow to stir fry for several minutes in order for greens to wilt and tomato softens. Remove greens and tomato mixture from pan to plate.

I like my eggs over medium and usually flip them for a minute, but for this recipe I chose to have them sunny side up. In order to set the whites I covered the pan for a minute and checked for my level of doneness. The key is to not have the yolk cook too much and loose the yellow color. 

Add another tsp. of oil to pan and allow to warm. I usually knock the heat down to a medium low when cooking eggs. That is just my preference, so feel free to change the heat or the style of egg to your palate. As the eggs cook, add seasoning of choice. I have curry this week, so it has been added to many of my meals.

Slide eggs from pan unto the greens and tomato mixture.

Bon Appetit’ ! Life is good!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

