Polenta, Spicy Veg, and Sweet Italian Sausage

po·len·ta
pəˈlentə/
noun
 cornmeal as used in Italian cooking. A paste or dough made from cornmeal, which is boiled and typically then fried or baked.

  1. Prepare polenta according to your serving size needs. I used 1 cup of polenta, stirring in minced fresh garlic, and after a simmering, laid pepper jack slices on top of the mixture once poured into a oven proof plate. I use a pie plate only because I do not own a 9x 12 or 8×8 dish.
  2. Spicy veg. can be any vegetables you need to use up in your fridge. I diced quite small; onion, celery, carrot, garlic, and collard greens. I also had some fresh but dried rosemary to use up. Honestly, use what you have on hand. I wanted tomato in my saute’ mixture (I used both a splash of olive oil, butter, then finished with Mongolian spicy oil), so I added a little crushed tomato I had in my cupboard. Just for a little more heat, I shaved frozen jalapeno pepper into the mix. I let this simmer until the carrots were al dente. Please use spicy as a guide, my dish became very spicy!
  3. Sweet Italian Sausage can be what you like, in fact you also could use tofuturkey sausage if you don’t do meat. I used sweet Italian turkey sausage. Sausage comes in a variety of ways, so experiment! Freeze links for an hour to firm up. This will make the sausage easier to cut on an angle. This is only for presentation which is really the crux of a good plate of food. If you are feeling lazy or just don’t have the time, please feel free to skip this step. If you have a sweet pepper on hand slice one in thin strips and add to the pan. Bake or stir fry until the juices no longer are pink.
  4. Assemble by layering spicy veg on top of polenta and cooked sausage on top of spicy veg. Bake for an additional 10- 15 minutes at 350 degrees. Enjoy with crusty bread and copious amounts of wine.

Leave a Reply

